2018 Cookery Project — Smoky Oven Baked Salmon with Horseradish Sauce

Smoky Oven Baked Salmon with Horseradish Sauce

Smoky Oven Baked Salmon with Horseradish Sauce

I have my defaults.

My default Breakfast Cereal is Open Nature Naturally Flavored Granola with one or more servings of fresh fruit (raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, and/or bananas), Golden Raisins, and heavy cream.

My default Ham Sandwich is Black Forest ham on hand-cut slices of sourdough bread, with my own honey-mustard spread, some cress, and a sprinkling of bleu cheese.

And now I have a default recipe for salmon.

The recipe for Smoky Oven Baked Salmon with Horseradish Sauce that I found on a website called A Spicy Perspective turned out so well that I’m sure I’ll be using it over and over.

Here’s how it works: You spread brown sugar over the salmon, then add liquid smoke to the sugar and rub the mixture to coat the entire fillet. Bake it on parchment paper for 15 minutes. The liquid smoke and brown sugar blend give the fish a wonderful, shiny glaze.

The Horseradish Sauce is a mixture of grated shallot, sour cream, milk, mustard, and, uh, horseradish.

Add some capers and parsley, and you’re ready to go.


Rating

★ Disaster. Inedible. Poisoned the cat.
★★ OK, but once is enough.
★★★ Mixed results. Something went wrong, but might try this again.
★★★★ Good, but lacks that special something.
★★★★★ Excellent. Goes into my “This is a winner” file.

Leave a comment