Andy and Marilyn

As pretty much everybody knows by now, Andy Warhol’s 1964 artwork, Shot Sage Blue Marilyn, sold at Christie’s for a record $195,000,000, making it the most expensive American artwork to ever sell at auction. The bidding lasted less than four minutes, and the identity of the winning bidder has not been disclosed.

Meanwhile, Netflix is currently screening “The Andy Warhol Diaries”, a six-part series based Warhol’s extensive posthumously published journals. Warhol’s diaries covered the period between November 1976 and February 1987, ending about five days before his death. An edited version of the diaries, running 807 gossipy pages, was published in 1989. To the great frustration of many readers, it had no index, which made finding juicy stories about the celebrities in Warhol’s orbit difficult to find.

It could have been worse. The full diary was more than 20,000-pages

The

The last time I saw Warhol was at a book signing in Washington. Warhol, well aware of the value of his name, was willing to sign anything. I was amused to watch as a young man dropped his jeans and ask Warhol to sign his underpants, which Andy, also apparently amused, did.

I wonder what those underpants would fetch at auction today.


Andy Warhol’s Dead But I’m Not

I’ve always loved this late ’80s song by the band E-I-E-I-O.

Andy and Marilyn, together at last.

Leave a comment