“So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish”


Raw, in every sense of the word, footage from the fish market at Mercati di Rialto*


This being Venice, a large section of Mercati di Rialto is devoted to fish, and to the spectacular array of other things that live under water.

After my lunch at Trattoria Cherubino, where I sometimes had no idea what I was eating, I went back to the market to see if I could track down the dish’s more mysterious components. At least, that’s what I told myself. It was really just an excuse to get another look at these beautiful edibles.

For those playing along at home, here’s how to calculate the prices in US dollars:

Most of the items are sold by the kilo, and a kilo is the equivalent of 2.2 pounds. The posted prices are in euros, and at the current exchange rate, €1.00 is about $1.05. If you have difficulty with the math, just ask some school kids who are learning algebra to solve the problem. They’ll jump at the chance to show off.


*Speaking of showing off, the wobbly, unedited video at the top of this posting is my first attempt at adding live footage to the blog. More, and better examples to come.

Leave a Reply

