Lunch at Osteria Enoteca San Marco


After the museum, I was ready for lunch. I chose Osteria Enoteca San Marco, a small and stylish restaurant a few blocks from Piazza San Marco.

Nice, varied selection of bread.

Tagliatelle di farro al ragù d'anatra

Tagliatelle di farro al ragù d’anatra

The Scandinavian couple at the next table were being served this dish as I took my seat. I asked them what it was, and they told me it was Tagliatelle with Duck Ragu. By the time I was ready to order, they’d tasted enough to recommend the dish.

I liked it. The duck had been cut into pea-sized nuggets, and, as I often found to be the case in Venice, the portion was on the small side as well. Good starter.

Calamari alla griglia, gamberi marinati al lime e zenzero e verdure croccanti

Calamari alla griglia, gamberi marinati al lime e zenzero e verdure croccanti

My main was this nicely-plated serving of grilled squid and marinated raw shrimp, with lime and ginger.

Leave a Reply

