Alien:  Covenant — And Here’s the First Trailer

A few days ago, I posted the Prologue to Alien: Covenant, the upcoming addition to the Alien film franchise. And now the first trailer for the film itself has been released.

It looks like they’re rebooting the series, rather than extending it. There are a lot of echos of the original Alien storyline in the trailer.

I’m fascinated by this, but there’s no way in the world that I’ll see it in a theatre. I get no joy from sitting in the dark being scared, especially if I’m surrounded by people who feel a need to shout “Don’t go in there!” when a character in the movie decides it would be a good time to go searching for the mysteriously missing cat. It doesn’t help things that those same people have a irresistible need to scream when the character finds…something else.

Nope. I’ll watch this at home, with the lights on, and the remote control firmly in my right hand, so that I can mute the ominous soundtrack and pause or fast forward and rewind when things get too intense. Even so, I’ll be watching the movie through the splayed fingers of my left hand, just in case.

The film will be released on 19 May 2017.

Leave a Reply

