Warehouse Bar & Grill — Lunch on 17 February 2017

With the start of Alexandria Restaurant Week, we’re finally in the home stretch of this year’s winter dining marathon.

I’ve come to think of this as one of my big annual projects. Starting in late December, I spend a huge amount of time planning: reading reviews, researching menus and locations, balancing places I’ve never tried with proven favourites, searching for something interesting and new. From mid-January through sometime in February, my days are largely built around Lunch. After that, I turn my focus to planning what I still think of as Spring Break. (This year, I’ll be spending Spring Break in Venice. The one in Italy, not the one in California.)

Then in August, the cycle begins again.

I’ve always agreed with the idea that “living well is the best revenge”, and in a way, I’m now getting revenge for all those tuna-salad-on-Wonderbread lunches I used to make in younger, hungrier days.

Okay, back to Alexandria.

This was my first visit to the Warehouse Bar & Grill, which is two blocks from the waterfront in Old Town Alexandria.

Soup

Soup

The menu said that She-Crab soup was the restaurant’s specialty, and it lived up to the description.

Tilapia

Tilapia

My main was Horseradish-Crusted Tilapia, with lump crab meat and a champagne leek sauce. It came with smashed potatoes and fresh asparagus.

One of the frequent criticisms of Restaurant Week is that some restaurateurs feature less expensive ingredients in their selections. Salmon, for instance, is unavoidable—it shows up on almost every menu.

Tilapia is another example. But this plate, with the lump crab meat and the champagne leek sauce, tasted anything but cheap. Excellent main.

Service here was also exemplary.


You may have noticed the absence of a picture of my dessert. The reason is a little embarrassing. I had strawberries and cream, and it looked so tempting that I was half way through it before I realized I’d forgotten to take a picture.

Leave a Reply

