Mussel Bar and Grille — Lunch on 20 January 2017

Mussel Bar and Grille

Mussel Bar and Grille

I live at Dupont Circle,  about seven blocks (or a 15-minute walk) from the White House. For reasons that are pretty obvious, I’d decided long ago that I would not spend Inauguration Day 2017 in Washington. And I didn’t!

I made it as far as Bethesda, Maryland.

Admittedly, it was a symbolic gesture. Crossing the DC-Maryland line is nowhere near as difficult as, say, tunneling under a 100 foot high wall separating the US from Mexico. But it’s the thought….

So midday found me at the Mussel Bar and Grille, a few blocks from the Bethesda metro station.

Salad

Salad

This was one of those times when the starter was so good that I feared the main might by anticlimactic. I had the Roasted Pear Salad, with mixed greens, walnuts and dried cranberries, and a  ribbon of ricotta.

Mussels

Mussels

The main? Well, “Mussel Bar” is part of the name of the restaurant, so a serving of White Wine Mussels was an easy choice. The pot included half a head of roasted garlic, which was unexpected but very welcome—I love roasted garlic.  In addition to the white wine, the sauce contained cream, lemon, and parsley.

You can just see the bottom of the traditional cone of hand-cut frites at the rear of the photo. They came with a trio of aioli dips, and they were addicting.


Bethesda Restaurant Week for Winter 2017 runs for two more days, but for me, it ends with this meal. The big Metropolitan Washington Restaurant Week, with 250+ restaurants in the District, Maryland, and Virginia, starts in a week, and runs through 5 February, with some places extending it until just before Valentine’s Day.

I’ve already started to make my reservations.

Leave a Reply

