Art in Progress, and the Search for Curried Chicken on Toast

0152747283dfb56bb505f3b0e1cd58cc72a589cf83-aaa

Look what I found!

One of the things I love about being in a new city is that even the shortest walk is an adventure. Exploring streets I’ve never seen before, getting “lost”, and stumbling across something totally unexpected can turn into the high point of my day.

After leaving the Prado, I set out in search of a little neighborhood restaurant called Tinto y Tapas. I stopped along the way when I saw this art-installation-in-progress at CaixaForum Madrid. And look closely at the building next to it. That green wall is itself a work of art, designed by a botanist to complement the plants in the Real Jardín Botánico, which is across the street.

01df36cce519721e94e31b6e849335f07e913b057b-aaa


On to Tinto y Tapas, a tiny restaurant on a side street near Atocha station.

It seats maybe 20 people, but TripAdvisor ranks it as #31 of the 8,646 restaurants in Madrid. My late afternoon snack, curried chicken on toast, was the least expensive meal I had in the city.

It was delicious.

One thought on “Art in Progress, and the Search for Curried Chicken on Toast

Leave a Reply

