At Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza

It was cool and rainy during much of my first week in Madrid, but that wasn’t a problem since I was planning to spend most of my time indoors.

Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza is relatively new—it opened in 1992—but it houses one of the world’s great collections. The massive and comprehensive collection itself was built over the course of two generations of the Thyssen-Bornemisza family.

Containing almost one thousand works of art, it surveys the history of European painting from the beginning of the 13th century to the close of the 20th century. It takes your breath away!

I kept returning to the painting at the top of this item, Vittore Carpaccio’s “Young Knight in a Landscape”.


Take the Virtual Tour

Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza has one of the best virtual tours I’ve ever seen. I recommend starting at Level Two and working your way down. The page may be slow-loading.


1930-98b

As always, I searched out works by some of my favourites. This is attributed to the workshop of Rubens, and it’s obviously as Rubenesque as a painting can get. It’s called “Saint Michael Expelling Lucifer and the Rebellious Angels”.

new

One masterpiece after another.  This is Hans Suess Kulmbach’s “Triptych of the Rosary”.

ghirlandaio-giovanna_tornabuoni-aaa

“The Portrait of Giovanna Tornabuoni”, by Domenico Ghirlandaio, is one of the Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza’s signature works.


An Embarrassingly Sophomoric Misinterpretation at Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza

I’m not proud of this.

When I came across this painting, Guercino’s “Jesus and the Samaritan Woman at the Well”, the inner 10th grader who lives at the back of my brain immediately re-captioned the picture to something more contemporary.

800px-guercino_-_jesus_and_the_samaritan_woman_at_the_well_-_wga10946“I’ve got the weed, you’ve got the wine. Let’s go over to my place and Netflix and chill.”

I chuckled to myself. Really unworthy of me. As I wrote, I’m not proud.

Leave a Reply

