Museo Cerralbo

“Vacation” means different things to different people. For some people, an ideal vacation consists of lazing on a Mykonos beach; for others, it’s trekking in the Andes. Some people go out dancing, other people, they just gotta work, to coin a phrase.

Me, I collect palaces and stately homes and galleries and museums. There’s nowhere I’d rather be than in the rich old imperial cities of Europe, soaking in the cultural accumulation that comes with centuries of wealth and power.

After lunch, I spent the rest of my first full day in Madrid at Museo Cerralbo, a treasure house that is the former home of the 17th Marqués de Cerralbo, poet, politician, archaeologist, and collector. On his death in 1922, he left his estate, including artworks by Zurbarán, Ribera, van Dyck and El Greco, to the nation.

I was in my element here. I stayed for hours.

Leave a Reply

