“What Ever Happened to Susan Sarandon?”

susan-sarandon-in-character-as-hollywood-icon-bette-davis-691514

In theory, I should be a big fan of Ryan Murphy fan. People whose taste I trust have recommended various Murphy projects through the years, and, from All About Eve to The Last of Sheila, I’ve always enjoyed campy, literate drama. But the alleged charms of Murphy’s shows have always eluded me. I gave up on Nip/Tuck after a few episodes, and got only half way through the first season of American Horror Story. And Glee! I tried, I really tried, but the two and a half episodes I sampled were so painfully awful that i was left yearning for the wit and dramatic depth of Saved by the Bell.

But here I am, about to get dragged back in again. Every time I think I’m out….

The picture above is from the set of Murphy’s new series, Feud. Each eight-episode season of the show will focus on—what else?—a famous feud.

The first season will cover the lifelong rivalry between Bette Davis, the Actress, and Joan Crawford, the Movie Star, as it came to a head during the filming of What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? That’s an unrecognizable Susan Sarandon in the picture, playing Baby Jane Hudson near the end of the film.

This is irresistible. And look at the amazing cast!

  • Jessica Lange as Joan Crawford
  • Susan Sarandon as Bette Davis
  • Alfred Molina as Robert Aldrich
  • Sarah Paulson as Geraldine Page
  • Stanley Tucci as Jack L. Warner
  • Judy Davis as Hedda Hopper
  • Dominic Burgess as Victor Buono
  • Catherine Zeta-Jones as Olivia de Havilland
  • Jackie Hoffman as Mamasita

For a look at the back story on Davis and Crawford, I highly recommend Shaun Considine’s dual biography, Bette and Joan: The Divine Feud. It’s one of the best Hollywood bios I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

