2016 Cookery Project — Sausage, Pinto Beans, and Kale

Sausage, Pinto Beans, and Kale

Sausage, Pinto Beans, and Kale

One of the first food blogs I followed, long before I got serious about actually seeing what I could do in a kitchen, was Adam Roberts’s “The Amateur Gourmet”.  He started posting in 2004, and for more than 10 years, he kept me entertained with stories of restaurant visits, notes on the larger foodie scene, details of his life and adventures, and, of course, recipes.  He’s moved on now.  About a year and a half ago, he got a job as a staff writer on the sitcom The Real O’Neals, married his long-time boyfriend, film director Craig Johnson, and stopped updating the blog.

It’s still online, though, and Roberts writes with a considerable amount of charm, so I occasionally go back and read his old posts.  That’s what I was doing when I came across his recipe for Chicken Sausage, White Beans, and Kale.

I’m using the word “recipe” loosely, because he doesn’t follow the usual format of first listing ingredients and quantities, then describing steps and durations.  Instead, he presents it as a narrative, and assumes the reader can fill in the blanks.  I couldn’t have done that when he posted the entry in 2014, but now, after gaining a lot of experience that comes from trial and error, I was able to breeze right through it.  Progress!

I read somewhere that to become truly proficient at something, you need to practice it for 2,000 hours.  I still have a lot of work to do.

Leave a Reply

