2016 Cookery Project — Angel Hair Pasta with Tuna, Tomatoes, and Olives

Angel Hair Pasta with Tuna, Tomatoes, and Olives

Angel Hair Pasta with Tuna, Tomatoes, and Olives

This was easy, and the meal was perfect for a late summer lunch on the roof deck.  I used a recipe from Epicurious as a starting point, and went from there.

While I was cooking the Angel Hair pasta (aka Capellini), I halved some cherry tomatoes and tossed them in a bowl with some torn black olives, lot of chopped parsley, capers, olive oil, and two cans of Genova Yellowfin tuna.  When the pasta was al dente, I drained it, plated it,  added the other ingredients, and drizzled some fresh lemon juice over the top.  A couple of  twists of the pepper grinder and a scattering of Maldon sea salt flakes, and it was ready to eat.

Even though this meal didn’t require any skills greater than the ability to boil water, I felt good about it.  I’m really beginning to get to where I want to be with cooking, making tasty meals that are outside of my old comfort zone.  Little steps.


An aside:  What on earth happened to canned tuna?  I used to practically live on it, but I rarely buy it anymore.  When I do, it’s the upscale, more expensive kind, rather than the regular Bumblebee or Chicken of the Sea brands I used to get, because the quality of the mainstream brands seems to have nose-dived.  I remember when canned tuna had taste and texture, but the last few cans I bought were watery messes that looked like something I’d feed the cat.  If I had one.

Leave a Reply

