I Could Get Lost in This Painting

I know nothing of Frederick Judd Waugh and his painting beyond the few details I found on the Net.  He was born in New Jersey in 1861 and died in 1940.  Most of his paintings are seascapes. During World War I, he designed ship camouflage for the Navy.

He painted this in 1922, and it’s called “Rum Row.”   Does “rum” refer to the bottles?   Maybe, maybe not.

I haven’t been able to find where the painting lives these days, but I’d certainly like to meet it. It’s one of those images that keeps me coming back for another look.

Leave a Reply

