2016 Cookery Project — Filet Mignon Belmont House

This made up for the mixed results I had a few days ago, when I made gazpacho and gorgonzola toast.  (Memorable gorgonzola toast, but forgettable…whatever the other thing was.  It slips my mind just now.)

I found the Filet Mignon Belmont House recipe, which was originally in Bon Appétit, on Epicurious.   It’s pretty straight forward.  Here’s what I did:

I cut the Russet potatoes in half, doused them with olive oil and seasonings, and baked them at 450 degrees.  After 25 minutes, I added some rather elderly heritage tomatoes I had lying around, turned the potatoes over, and baked them for 25 minutes more.

Meanwhile, back on the stove top,  I seasoned the filet and cooked it in butter for five minutes on each side.  Then I removed the steaks from the skillet, let the pan cool a bit, and added beef broth, brandy, and rosemary.  I scraped up the browned bits, and reduced it to half a cup.

The sauce and the vegetables were ready at the same time.  I plated everything, spooned the sauce over the beef, and crumbled bleu cheese on top of that.

Success!

Leave a Reply

