Poste — Lunch on 25 January 2016

Well, here it is, late January, and neither rain nor snow nor sleet can keep me from celebrating 2016 Winter Restaurant Week, when i mix visits to old favourites with the search for new treats.

The blizzard shut down the government, but it couldn’t force the more dedicated restaurants to close.  After three days of home confinement, I was desperate to eat something I hadn’t prepared myself.  (Is there a word for that?   There should be.)

I confirmed my reservation at Poste, walked to the Dupont Circle metro station (falling to the sidewalk only slightly more often than I usually do), and took one of the uncrowded and free-for-the-day trains to Gallery Place.

I love Poste—I’ve never been disappointed with anything I’ve eaten there.  The restaurant is linked to Hotel Monaco, which is part of the Kimpton chain.  As you might expect from Kimpton, the lobby is a stylish, upscale gem.  I sat in front of the fireplace for a while before going in to lunch.

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

What better way to start a meal on a cold winter day than with a bowl of French Onion Soup.   This one has braised short rib, the traditional Gruyère, and croutons.  Perfect.

Chicken Paillard

Chicken Paillard

I can never get the chicken this thin when I try to do this at home.  The grilled chicken breast was no thicker than a nickel.   The cheese was bouchevrette, which is made using fresh pasteurized goats’ milk.  The tomato and mixed greens had a balsamic vinaigrette.

Chocolate Pot de Creme

Chocolate Pot de Creme

“Frangelico mousse, caramelized pears, oat streusel,  and cocoa crisp.”

Off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

