Golden Hind — Lunch on 2 April 2015

My first meal in London was a traditional lamb pie and chips lunch at a classic British pub.  I wanted my last full meal to be another classic:   Fish and chips.  And I wasn’t just looking for the English equivalent of Long John Silver’s.

I really researched this one, and finally decided on the 100-year-old Golden Hind, in Marylebone, which Travel + Leisure, Zagat’s, and London Time Out all ranked as one of the five best fish and chips restaurants in the city.

Golden Hind

The Golden Hind.  I guess the “D” is silent.

The Golden Hind, named after the galleon that circumnavigated the globe under Sir Francis Drake, opened in 1914, the first year of the Great War.  I thought about that as I chatted w/the helpful, friendly young German couple at the next table.  A century ago, our great-greats might have been trying to kill each other.

Golden Hind Fish and Chips

Fish and Chips

So how was it?   The chips were just OK.   The fish part of the F&C was the best I’ve ever had.   The fish was just-out-of-the-water fresh, and the outside stayed crunchy to the end, which was key for me, because I hate it if the coating gets soggy before I can eat it.

The Golden Hind lives up to its ratings.


Now that I’m writing this, I’m hungry for F&C.   When I was living in San Francisco, I was a regular at an inexpensive little restaurant in North Beach, called Edna’s Fish & Chips.  It closed long ago, but I still have fond memories of Edna and her food.  And I miss another of my favourites, Piccadilly Fish & Chips, which I see is still open on Polk Street.  It occurs to me that I’ve never found a place that serves really great F&C here in Washington.

That may be reason enough to move.

Leave a Reply

