Grapeseed — Lunch on 30 January 2015

2015 Winter Restaurant Week, Extended,  Day 5

Some restaurants are continuing to celebrate 2015 Winter RW through Sunday, but for me, it ended Friday, w/a trip to the always delightful Grapeseed, in Bethesda.

Grapeseed

Grapeseed

 

Grapeseed Mussels

Mussels

Oh, these were good!   The broth contained little chunks of chorizo, and jalapeno peppers.  I used the grilled bread to mop up every bit of it.

Grapeseed Steak Frites

Steak Frites

The cut of beef in the Steak Frites was called “Grilled Butcher’s Filet (Teres Major).”  That’s a shoulder cut.  Served w/a house sauce and hand-cut fries.

Grapeseed Dessert

Dessert

Dessert was Chocolate Crémeux, which I can’t pronounce unless I’ve had wine w/my meal.  (I find my French accent improves in direct proportion to the amount of alcohol I consume, until I start a third drink.  At that point, for some reason, I lose the ability to speak coherently in any language.)

Crémeux is French for “creamy.”   Food & Wine Magazine describes it as “a dense, soft, classic pudding that’s the new darling of many American pastry chefs.”   Grapeseed’s version came w/Devil’s Food crumbs and salted caramel, which made me happy.  Chocolate-covered caramels topped w/sea salt have been my favourite treat for the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

