Kunsthistorisches Museum I

My plan was to spend my last full day in Vienna at Kunsthistorisches Museum — the Art History Museum.  I knew from the start that a day would not be enough.

A year would not be enough.

That meant I had to prioritize ruthlessly, limiting myself to the Picture Gallery, which offers European art, and skipping the antiquities collections during this visit.   My first stop was the museum’s temporary Velázquez exhibition.

There was another, much smaller temporary exhibition that I’d been looking forward to:  “Arcimboldo:  Rediscovered” included two of Giuseppe Arcimboldo’s “composite heads,” privately owned and shown to the public for the first time in their history.

The paintings turned out to be lesser works, but I’ve always been fascinated by Arcimboldo.   The National Gallery in Washington had a wonderful Arcimboldo show a few years ago that I probably visited a half dozen times.

K arch


Then it was on to a slow walk through the dozens of rooms that make up the Picture Gallery.  It was overwhelming.  Kunsthistorisches Museum has a magnificent collection.

Albrecht_Dürer_003 x

Albrecht Dürer’s “Adoration of the Trinity”

Leonhard_Beck_001b

Leonhard Beck’s “Saint George”

Leave a Reply

