Wok n Roll — Lunch on 16 October 2014

I had such a good plan for the day.

Optometry appointment at 11 near Union Station, which meant I could get to Gallery Place for lunch by a little after noon, then on to a nearby screening of either The Skeleton Twins at 1:15 or Pride at 1:30, depending on how long my meal took.  I complimented myself on my efficient scheduling, thinking about what a clever animal I am, but I had overlooked one small detail:  That appointment w/the optometrist had included a routine pupil dilation, which left me looking like one of those Margaret Keane big-eyed-children paintings.

Dilated pupils and movies are not a good combination, unless the movie is 2001: A Space Odyssey, in which case dilated pupils are de rigueur, at least for the final 20 minutes.  Since neither of the films on my agenda included intense psychedelic light shows, I decided to just have lunch and go home,

I went to Wok n Roll, in Washington’s tiny Chinatown.  As the restaurant’s name suggests, it offers both Chinese and Japanese dishes.  I stuck w/the Chinese part of the menu.  It was a good meal, at an excellent price.

Wok n Roll

Wok n Roll

Hot and Sour Soup

Hot and Sour Soup

I’ll admit that starting w/hot and sour soup and spring rolls was about as unadventurous as you can get.

Rolls

Crispy Chicken Spring Rolls

Shrimp and Scallops

Shrimp and Scallops in Hot Garlic Sauce

This was excellent, but I had to have most of this boxed to go, because the serving size was so huge.  I do have the excuse that, thanks to Dr Lakhani, at that point my eyes were bigger than my stomach.

One thought on “Wok n Roll — Lunch on 16 October 2014

  1. Pingback: 2001 Remastered | More Songs about Buildings and Food

Leave a Reply

